Tuesday, June 13, 2006

Killing the Five Evils: Overcoming Lust (Kaam) Part 5

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh

This will be the final post on Kaam.

There is a parsang of Guru Nanak Dev Ji blessing gyan to Emperor Shivnaabh. Upon gaining the grace of Guru Nanak Sahib Ji, the emperor asked Guru Sahib to bless him with gyaan and Guru Sahib at that time mentioned many different virtues which are important and Guru Sahib also told him to stay away from kaam, even in thoughts. Guru Sahib mentioned that there is kaam of 8 kinds, which takes steps and the ‘stages’ increase from one to the next if one fails to control the initial stage. Here is the exact passage from that Sri Guru Nanak Parkash:

First stage is of talking to one another about those of other sex. And the next stage occurs when one starts thinking of such talks by himself and others in his mind. Third stage occurs when one meets those of other sex in person. Fourth is when one touches the other person. Fifth is when s/he looks at others with an urging interest. Sixth is when that person touches the other with having lustful desires. Seventh is when that person constantly keeps on thinking of the other person in his mind. Eighth is when he fulfills the desires of his mind.

As we can see that the first few stages might not seem very objectionable but later on the stages start becoming obvious and if the person does happen to enter any of the final stages I believe that is when the person ruins everything up for himself.

So to save ourselves from such stages it’s important that we stay away from the early ones.

By: Saffajang Singh

Waheguru Ji Ka Khalsa Waheguru Ji Ki Fateh

No comments: